Back to top

The Evolution of Hip-Hop Festival

The Evolution of Hip-Hop Festival


Sat., September 17, 3:00pm to 6:00pm


70 Union Square, Somerville


You are here

A family friendly festival showcasing the history of the Hip Hop culture. 

TPhoto by Mark Jones, Hip Hop Festival 2015his is the 2nd Evolution of Hip Hop Festival in Somerville. The festival is a showcase of talents from the Somerville community and surrounding cities and showcases Hip Hop culture throughout the decades. We call it a family affair! Bring your blankets and pick up a snack from surrounding restaurants and enjoy the music.

This festival will feature:-MC's Crystal Chandler & Shardai Sam-Clarke
-Spoken word presentation about the evolution of the hip hop culture by Donnie Dixon
-Dance performances by The CONcept Artists, Present-Day Dance Theatre & Sinha' Capoeira 
-Spoken word & hip hop open mic

Hip Hop Festival 2015, photo by Mark Jones-To sign up for the open mic sessions email: watsdawurd@gmail.com, there will be 3 minute time slots available between 3:20 - 3:40, 4:20 - 4:45 & 5:45-6pm. 

This festival will also feature, art, interactive activities & local community groups!

The festival is produced in collaboration with SCATV and Somerville Line producer, Yvette Wilks.

(Photos by Mark Jones)

AgriCultural Festival
Sun., October 2, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
appropriated from greg cook
MUM@ARTFarm
Sat., September 24, 8:00pm to Sun., September 25, 1:00am
MUM
What the Fluff?
Sat., September 24, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Fluff Bath 2006
Rock and Roll Yard Sale
Sun., September 11, 11:00am to 5:00pm
Ignite! Global Street Food and Fire Festival
Sat., August 13, 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Ignite! Festival
Haiti and Brazil hit the ‘Ville!
Sun., July 24, 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Fixer Fair
Sun., June 19, 2:00pm to 5:00pm
Tiny Tall Ships Festival
Sat., May 14, 3:00pm to 6:00pm
Cinco de Mayo
Thu., May 5, 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Cinema Somerville Film Festival
Sat., April 30, 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Kids Dance Party!
Sat., April 9, 3:00pm to 5:00pm
kids dance party