Back to top

Fixer Fair

Fixer Fair


Sun., June 19, 2:00pm to 5:00pm


90 Union Square, Somerville


You are here

The Fixer Fair celebrates repair! Don’t recycle it, FIX it.  Don't buy a new one, make your old one better!

Repairing things helps the environment, is more economical, and teaches engineering to adults and kids. Blenders, cell phones, toasters, bikes, art objects, clothes, rice cookers, vacuums, laptops...how many items in your home need repair? At the Fixer Fair attendees can bring things that need repairing and learn how to repair them or find someone who can. Local businesses that repair items can promote themselves and perform on-site repairs. We’ll have workshops about how to take apart, maintain and repair things. What do an auto mechanic, a computer technician and a tailor all have in common? They FIX things, and they can help you fix things too.

Produced in partnership with Dina Gjertsen of Parts and Crafts and the Somerville Tool Library.

And check out the Boston Globe coverage of last year's event.

 

AgriCultural Festival
Sun., October 2, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
appropriated from greg cook
MUM@ARTFarm
Sat., September 24, 8:00pm to Sun., September 25, 1:00am
MUM
What the Fluff?
Sat., September 24, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Fluff Bath 2006
The Evolution of Hip-Hop Festival
Sat., September 17, 3:00pm to 6:00pm
Rock and Roll Yard Sale
Sun., September 11, 11:00am to 5:00pm
Ignite! Global Street Food and Fire Festival
Sat., August 13, 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Ignite! Festival
Haiti and Brazil hit the ‘Ville!
Sun., July 24, 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Tiny Tall Ships Festival
Sat., May 14, 3:00pm to 6:00pm
Cinco de Mayo
Thu., May 5, 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Cinema Somerville Film Festival
Sat., April 30, 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Kids Dance Party!
Sat., April 9, 3:00pm to 5:00pm
kids dance party