Back to top

Wordsong presents: InJust- Spring. An Evening of Poetry and Song

Wordsong presents: InJust- Spring. An Evening of Poetry and Song


Fri., April 4, 8:00pm to 10:30pm


33 Union Square, Somerville


You are here

Come whistle far and wee!

The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful as the balloonman whistles far and wee during WordSong’s multiple interpretations of the E.E. Cumming poem inJust-.

If you thought this might be just an evening of poetry and song (as the title suggests) you were quite wrong! Wordsong strives to explore a new concert format in which text is presented in multiple, newly composed settings and afterwards becomes the focus of a conversation between composers, performers, and the audience. This opens a dialogue among participants about various points of view, preconceptions, and emotional impacts of the words and music making it a truly special event.

In addition to a great concept, the evening includes enormous local talents performing in an intimate setting right in Union Square, Somerville. The composers of the four settings are Howard Frazin, Benjamin Pesetsky, Tom Schnauber, and Adam Jacob Simon. The performers of each piece are mezzo-soprano Thea Lobo, marimbist Brandon Ilaw, and cellist Rafael Popper Keizer (upper right).

Thea Lobo (featured right) is rapidly being recognized as a highly musical and flexible soloist and ensemble singer. She has appeared under the baton of such conductors as Harry Christophers, Martin Pearlman, Stephen Stubbs, and Helmuth Rilling, and has been featured with musical organizations including Firebird Ensemble, Chorus pro Musica, Boston Early Music Festival and Europäisches Musikfest Stuttgart.

We hope you can join us for a whimsical and imaginative evening.

 

 

 

The Eight Tracks present: A Taste of A Cappella
Sun., October 5, 1:00pm to 4:00pm
What the Fluff?!? Fest
Sat., September 27, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
The BIG tiny house festival
Sat., September 20, 3:00pm to 9:00pm
Project MUM 2014
Sat., September 13, 8:00pm to Sun., September 14, 12:00am
Rock and Roll Yard Sale
Sun., September 7, 11:00am to 5:00pm
Fixer Fair
Sat., August 16, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Ignite! A Fire and Street Food Festival After Dark
Sat., August 9, 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Boston Handmade Marketplace
Sun., July 13, 11:00am to 4:00pm
Kawaii-Me: A Behind the Scenes Beauty Event
Sat., April 12, 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Historic Keyboard Concert
Sat., March 29, 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Somerville Builds: A Hands-On Kids Maker Event
Sun., March 2, 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Fire & Ice: A Winter Festival in Union Square
Sat., March 1, 4:00pm to 7:00pm