Back to top

Cooking Class: A Salvadoran Meal

Cooking Class: A Salvadoran Meal


Tue., July 2, 6:30pm to 9:00pm


201 Somerville Ave. , Somerville


You are here

El Salvador native Juan Carlos Menjivar will teach us to make a scrumptious Salvadoran meal. SOLD OUT

A native of La Palma, Chalatenango, El Salvador, Juan Carlos Menjivar will teach us to make a complete Salvadoran meal. Dishes include pasteles (empanada-like items, tinted red with achiote powder and stuffed with either meat or vegetables), pupusas, and curtido (a lightly fermented cabbage slaw). We will also make agua de cebada (a lightly spiced barley drink) and agua de marañan (made with cashew fruit) to accompany our meal. And for dessert, we’ll create Canoas de Plantano—fried plantains with poleada (a custard) and cinnamon—these delicious concoctions look just like canoes! Once our feast is ready, we will sit down to eat together and learn more about Salvadoran culinary and cultural traditions. Juan Carlos has a heaping portion of experience, having owned and run two restaurants in El Salvador: El Mirador and El Conacaste. 

Purchase tickets online here

Indian Feast to Celebrate Diwali
Tue., October 29, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Day of the Dead Cooking Class
Thu., October 24, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Cooking Class: A Taste of El Salvador
Mon., September 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Cooking Class: A Bite of Brazil
Wed., August 21, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Chiles en Nogada (bilingual cooking class!)
Tue., August 6, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Cooking Class: Spring Rolls & Kale Soba Salad
Tue., July 23, 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Cooking Class: Tapas Puertorriqueñas at Casa B
Sun., July 14, 1:00pm to 4:00pm
casa b
Nepali Meal with Bimala Thapa
Wed., March 6, 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Sushi Class with Chef Jose Garcia
Tue., January 29, 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Food of the Americas with Ryan Redmond
Sun., January 27, 4:00pm to 8:00pm