Back to top

Italian-via-Hoboken with Valeria Amato and Lourdes Smith

Italian-via-Hoboken with Valeria Amato and Lourdes Smith


Wed., March 13, 6:30pm to 9:30pm


You are here

This class will cover two great loves of Italy: mozzarella and pasta.

Lourdes, owner of Fiore di Nonno (a local cheese producer of Italian cheeses), and Valeria, Somerville resident, are both Italian Americans with roots in Hoboken, NJ where both of their families immigrated to from Italy.  In the 20th century, many Italians immigrated to Hoboken to start a new life. Italians brought along their hometown recipes, foods, and traditions.  Lourdes’s grandfather opened his own shop, Fiore, which is still open today and selling what many still name the #1 mozzarella around.  Valeria’s family, who are also regulars at Fiore’s, made it a point to keep their food traditions alive, including pasta and foccacia making.

Lourdes will teach you how to make your own delicious mozzarella. Valeria will show you how to make orecchiette, an ear-shaped pasta from the region of Puglia, where her family is from.  Once we’re done cooking, we’ll sit down and enjoy a delicious meal together.  You’ll also leave with recipes to make at home. All tickets will be sold via our online store only! 
 

Indian Feast to Celebrate Diwali
Tue., October 29, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Day of the Dead Cooking Class
Thu., October 24, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Cooking Class: A Taste of El Salvador
Mon., September 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Cooking Class: A Bite of Brazil
Wed., August 21, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Chiles en Nogada (bilingual cooking class!)
Tue., August 6, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Cooking Class: Spring Rolls & Kale Soba Salad
Tue., July 23, 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Cooking Class: Tapas Puertorriqueñas at Casa B
Sun., July 14, 1:00pm to 4:00pm
casa b
Cooking Class: A Salvadoran Meal
Tue., July 2, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Nepali Meal with Bimala Thapa
Wed., March 6, 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Sushi Class with Chef Jose Garcia
Tue., January 29, 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Food of the Americas with Ryan Redmond
Sun., January 27, 4:00pm to 8:00pm