Back to top

Nepali Feast with Debaki & Samjhana Lamichhane

Nepali Feast with Debaki & Samjhana Lamichhane


Wed., October 15, 6:30pm to 9:00pm


201 Somerville Ave. , Somerville


You are here

The three generations of Laminchane women keep the traditions of Nepal alive and cooking in their home kitchen -- located right above the New Bombay Market, the family-owned store in Union Square. We will begin by sampling of an array of Nepalese achars - or homemade pickles, including one featuring bitter melon and timur (a fragrant Nepalese spice). Next, we’ll head into the kitchen where the mother and daughter team of Debaki and Samjhana will teach us how to make bitter melon pickle. We’ll then prepare gundruk, a warm vegetarian stew made from fermented mustard greens cooked with chilis, ginger, and garlic. As the soup simmers, Debaki will demonstrate the preparation of dhido, a toasted wheat porridge that is served with gundruk -- and eaten by hand! Finally, we'll sit down to devour our feast and learn more about the culinary and cultural traditions of Katmandu, Nepal.  VEGETARIAN FRIENDLY!

Eventbrite - Gundruk (Nepalese Fermented Curry) with Debaki and Samjhana Lamichhane

Mole with Estela Caldeza featuring Taza Chocolate
Wed., November 5, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Global Grains with Rosie Gill
Wed., October 1, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Indian Veggie Extravaganza with Madhu Nene, Sept. 23
Tue., September 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Syrian Feast with Samah Tayara
Thu., September 11, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Mexican Pop-up Restaurant
Fri., August 1, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Preserving Culture
Tue., July 29, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Chiles en Nogada
Tue., July 8, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Brazilian Feast!
Thu., June 12, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Mimouna Feast
Wed., April 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Spice Mix Class with Rosie Gill
Thu., March 27, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
A Vegetarian Indian Feast with Madhuvanti Nene
Thu., March 20, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
A North Indian Feast with Madhuvanti Nene
Tue., February 25, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Brazilian Brigadeiro and Sweet Treats
Thu., February 13, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Mole with Taza Chocolate with Estela Calzada
Tue., February 11, 7:30pm to 9:00pm