Back to top

Global Grains with Rosie Gill

Global Grains with Rosie Gill


Wed., October 1, 6:30pm to 9:00pm


201 Somerville Ave. , Somerville


You are here

The interest in grains other than wheat is on the rise in the United States, but in other countries, people have eaten “alternative” grains for centuries. In this class, Rosie Gill will demonstrate traditional and new ways to use two of these (gluten-free) grains: amaranth and gram, or chickpea flour. Both are readily available in Union Square markets and used in many international Somerville homes to make porridge, soups, breads, sweets, and more.  In class we will start by snacking on amaranth chikki (brittle); then we’ll use amaranth leaves (courtesy of Somerville Community Growing Center) in an aromatic vegetable curry; while the curry simmers, we’ll mix and roll out chilla, Indian chickpea flatbreads, to eat with dinner. For dessert, we will make amaranth honey cookies. Students will go home with Persian chickpea cookies (made pre-class by Rosie) called nan-e-nokhodchi.  VEGETARIAN FRIENDLY! $40

 

Eventbrite - Global Grains: Amaranth and Chickpea Flours with Rosie Gill

Mole with Estela Caldeza featuring Taza Chocolate
Wed., November 5, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Nepali Feast with Debaki & Samjhana Lamichhane
Wed., October 15, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Indian Veggie Extravaganza with Madhu Nene, Sept. 23
Tue., September 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Syrian Feast with Samah Tayara
Thu., September 11, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Mexican Pop-up Restaurant
Fri., August 1, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Preserving Culture
Tue., July 29, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Chiles en Nogada
Tue., July 8, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Brazilian Feast!
Thu., June 12, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Mimouna Feast
Wed., April 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Spice Mix Class with Rosie Gill
Thu., March 27, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
A Vegetarian Indian Feast with Madhuvanti Nene
Thu., March 20, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
A North Indian Feast with Madhuvanti Nene
Tue., February 25, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Brazilian Brigadeiro and Sweet Treats
Thu., February 13, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Mole with Taza Chocolate with Estela Calzada
Tue., February 11, 7:30pm to 9:00pm