Back to top

Springtime Harvest: Moroccan Cooking Class with Laila

Springtime Harvest: Moroccan Cooking Class with Laila


Thu., April 21, 6:00pm to 8:30pm


121 Washington St. , Somerville


You are here

A first time Nibble class instructor, Laila brings decades of professional and at home cooking experience. Growing up in Morocco, Laila emphasizes that making food with only seasonal produce wasn’t even a thought. It just was.

Get excited for a fresh start to spring with a discussion on the Moroccan seven salads: A meze plate of fresh vegetables simply prepared with herbs and spices typically served before a special meal. Students in this class will learn how to make shermula to add to their culinary repertoire. This versatile and tasty spice blend is perfect with meat, vegetables, or fish, and will be the star in our main course. Learn about the food trends in Moroccan cuisine and the shift away from cooking with a Tagine, a clay pot used for making stews throughout North Africa. We’ll sip on homemade Mint tea and hear Laila’s thoughts on tea drinking culture back home. Meet fellow culinary minded folks as we take in a medley of mediterranean spices and knowledge, and then sit down and enjoy. Come hungry and dust off your apron for a fun night of food, culture, and community.

Get your tickets here!

Western Indian Cooking with Kalpana Gajjar (Vegetarian)
Thu., December 1, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Paratha
Ultimate Seafood Cooking Class with New Deal Fish Market
Thu., November 10, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Day of the Dead Cooking with Estela Calzada
Thu., October 27, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Vegetarian Italian with Marco Muda
Thu., October 20, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Fennel Orange Salad
Vegetarian Indian with Kalpana Gajjar
Thu., July 7, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Vegetarian Italian: Mangia with Marco Muda
Thu., June 30, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Flavor Lounge: A Global Pop-up Dining Series
Sat., June 25, 12:00pm to 2:00pm
Riz au Djon Djon: The Party Starter with Judith Laguerre
Thu., February 25, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Get Luxurious: Filipino Pamangan with Ellie Tiglao
Thu., February 11, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Syrian Cooking Class with Sam and Samah
Thu., January 28, 7:00pm to 9:30pm