Back to top

Riz au Djon Djon: The Party Starter with Judith Laguerre

Riz au Djon Djon: The Party Starter with Judith Laguerre


Thu., February 25, 7:00pm to 9:30pm



You are here

Judith Laguerre explains “often when people come back from visiting Haiti, they bring back some dried djon djon mushrooms in their suitcase. A local delicacy of Haiti, djon djon mushrooms can be found in Somerville’s very own La Internacional market in Union Square. This party starter is the star of the show; A dish that all other dishes revolve around. “When I make my riz au djon djon for a party, it is the first thing to go” say Laguerre. “If for some reason I don’t have time to make the rice, my friends will cancel their party!” Learn how to make this classic riz au djon djon haitian dish cooked with cloves, garlic, scallions, and herbs. Learn the proper “squashing” technique for making fried plantains; a staple for any proper Haitian meal. We’ll also discuss pikliz, the national condiment of Haiti. At the end we’ll sit down and enjoy a full meal that will be sure to heat you up even on the coldest day. Tickets sell out fast, get yours before the djon djon runs out!

Western Indian Cooking with Kalpana Gajjar (Vegetarian)
Thu., December 1, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Paratha
Ultimate Seafood Cooking Class with New Deal Fish Market
Thu., November 10, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Day of the Dead Cooking with Estela Calzada
Thu., October 27, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Vegetarian Italian with Marco Muda
Thu., October 20, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Fennel Orange Salad
Vegetarian Indian with Kalpana Gajjar
Thu., July 7, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Vegetarian Italian: Mangia with Marco Muda
Thu., June 30, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Flavor Lounge: A Global Pop-up Dining Series
Sat., June 25, 12:00pm to 2:00pm
Get Luxurious: Filipino Pamangan with Ellie Tiglao
Thu., February 11, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Syrian Cooking Class with Sam and Samah
Thu., January 28, 7:00pm to 9:30pm