Back to top

Syrian Cooking Class with Sam and Samah

Syrian Cooking Class with Sam and Samah


Thu., January 28, 7:00pm to 9:30pm


121 Washington St. , Somerville


You are here

Hailing from Homs, Syria, this mother and son duo are excited to take us on a Syrian culinary excursion right here in Somerville. In this class, Samah will teach us how to make Malfouf, stuffed cabbage leaves filled with cumin,vinegar, mint, beef, and rice pressure cooked in a flavorful broth until tender. Sam explains that without a pressure cooker, his mom covers her stockpot with heavy rocks on top of a lid to help lock in the steam. Meaning “rolled” in Arabic, these cabbage “cigars” will be served with a simple yogurt dip and are sure to make your mouth water. We’ll taste Banadora, a tomato based soup with vermicelli and meat seasoned with Syria’s famous aleppo chili. For dessert, be wowed with Namoora, a semolina based cake sometimes flavored with nuts or rosewater. For those who had a pasta making phase, and now have semolina flour sitting in their pantry, this is an excellent class to expand your pantry and your culinary repertoire! Class will be taught in English and Arabic. Get your tickets today!

Western Indian Cooking with Kalpana Gajjar (Vegetarian)
Thu., December 1, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Paratha
Ultimate Seafood Cooking Class with New Deal Fish Market
Thu., November 10, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Day of the Dead Cooking with Estela Calzada
Thu., October 27, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Vegetarian Italian with Marco Muda
Thu., October 20, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Fennel Orange Salad
Vegetarian Indian with Kalpana Gajjar
Thu., July 7, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Vegetarian Italian: Mangia with Marco Muda
Thu., June 30, 6:00pm to 8:30pm
Flavor Lounge: A Global Pop-up Dining Series
Sat., June 25, 12:00pm to 2:00pm
Riz au Djon Djon: The Party Starter with Judith Laguerre
Thu., February 25, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Get Luxurious: Filipino Pamangan with Ellie Tiglao
Thu., February 11, 7:00pm to 9:30pm