Back to top

Mole with Taza Chocolate with Estela Calzada

Mole with Taza Chocolate with Estela Calzada


Tue., February 11, 7:30pm to 9:00pm


201 Somerville Ave. , Somerville


You are here

Join us for a Nibble Mole making class.

A native of Durango, Mexico, Estela Calzada will teach attendees to make Mole, one of Mexico’s most famous dishes. To this day, Oaxaca and Puebla still argue about where the dish originated. There are many different types of Mole; we will be learning Estela’s secret recipe, which includes over 40 ingredients, including turkey, various nuts and seeds, and locally produced Taza chocolate. We will also make white rice and two drinks: Agua de Jamaica (hibiscus iced tea) and Agua de Tamarindo (Tamarindo juice). Once our feast is ready, we will sit down and eat and learn more about Mexican culinary and cultural traditions. Estella worked for two years at Somerville’s Tu Y You restaurant (her Mole and Tamale recipies still grace the menu there!) and runs a catering company called Comida Autentica Mexicana.

***This is a bilingual class, taught in Spanish and English***

Purchase tickets here.

 
Mole with Estela Caldeza featuring Taza Chocolate
Wed., November 5, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Nepali Feast with Debaki & Samjhana Lamichhane
Wed., October 15, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Global Grains with Rosie Gill
Wed., October 1, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Indian Veggie Extravaganza with Madhu Nene, Sept. 23
Tue., September 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Syrian Feast with Samah Tayara
Thu., September 11, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Mexican Pop-up Restaurant
Fri., August 1, 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Preserving Culture
Tue., July 29, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Chiles en Nogada
Tue., July 8, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Brazilian Feast!
Thu., June 12, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Mimouna Feast
Wed., April 23, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Spice Mix Class with Rosie Gill
Thu., March 27, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
A Vegetarian Indian Feast with Madhuvanti Nene
Thu., March 20, 6:30pm to 9:00pm
A North Indian Feast with Madhuvanti Nene
Tue., February 25, 7:30pm to 10:00pm
Brazilian Brigadeiro and Sweet Treats
Thu., February 13, 7:30pm to 10:00pm